Wednesday, December 12, 2007

The Living Strings - The Spirit of Christmas (1963)

Hey, everyone! Today I'm celebrating that I've passed 100,000 hits on this blog! Woo hoo! What a great way to get in the spirit of Christmas!

And that's a perfect segue into today's Christmas music offering, "The Spirit of Christmas with the Living Strings". This is another treasure from the HPB bargain bin. I've never really listened to the Living Strings before (I can't believe my mom never bought any of their records because she would have liked them) but I really liked the cover of this album so I went ahead and bought it. (I just really like how nostalgic 60s the cover looks!) Then when I listened to it, I really liked it! Now I'm going to have to go look for more records by the Living Strings. Enjoy!

Track listing for The Spirit of Christmas with the Living Strings:

Side 1:
1. White Christmas
2. Silver Bells
3. Medley: Wassail Song; The First Noel; Angels We Have Heard on High; Joy to the World
4. Mary's Boy Child (Mary's Little Boy Chile)
5. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
6. Medley: We Wish You a Merry Christmas; We Three Kings; It Came Upon the Midnight Clear; O Holy Night; Silent Night

Side 2:
1. Medley: O Come, All Ye Faithful; Oh Little Town of Bethlehem; Coventry Carol; Away in a Manger
2. Introduction: Deck the Halls; It's Beginning to Look Like Christmas
3. (There's No Place Like) Home for the Holidays
4. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
5. I'll Be Home for Christmas
6. The Little Drummer Boy


mel said...

Hi Esther,

Heartiest congratulations on passing 100,000 hits!

Best wishes and hope you achieve your second 100,000 not too far into the future.

Dennis said...

Hi Esther!

My Mother and Father LOVED this LP. I heard it over, and over, and over, at Christmas while I was growing up. I've just listened to it again and am awash in so many WONDERFUL memories of my childhood! Thank you for all you do!

Wytheville, Va said...

This is the greatest christmas album ever recorded.

Johnny Douglas, who arranged and conducted the orchestra on this album, did the greatest arranging and conducting on any single recording ever recorded with this christmas masterpiece. The strings are ultra lush, the backing rhythm is so unique and beautiful, just everything with the orchestra on this album is so great that every single song is a perfect recording of it, always among the greatest version if not the greatest version ever recorded.

And I own a very rare copy of this on cd from a very limited release of it. Thanks for sharing this most greatest of christmas albums so that many will probably hear it for the first time.