Sunday, July 27, 2008

Sammy Kaye and his Orchestra - Music for Dancing (1957)

Here's one for you big band enthusiasts. This was released on the Camden label, which was the budget label for RCA, in 1957. But, after listening to it, I think these songs must've been recorded a lot earlier - they kind of have a 1930s sound to them. It could be, too, that they just sound that way because this is a mono recording. Regardless, there are a lot of familiar tunes on this album that are sure to bring a smile to your face. I like how Sammy would introduce the vocalists, like - "and now here are the Kaye-dettes to sing..." or "to sing this beautiful song is so-and-so..." Anyway, enjoy!

Track listing for Sammy Kaye - Music for Dancing:

Side 1:
1. Baby Face
2. Miss You
3. Let's Have Another Cup of Coffee
4. Begin the Beguine
5. Pretty Baby
6. You Call It Madness

Side 2:
1. Amapola
2. You Always Hurt the One You Love
3. Taboo
4. Taking a Chance On Love
5. South of the Border
6. I Understand

No comments: