Wednesday, February 25, 2009

The Righteous Brothers - Just Once in My Life (1965)

I got this record as a birthday present a year and a half ago and, I hadn't listened to it until now. Truth is that I'm not a big Righteous Brothers fan, although I do like their recording of "Unchained Melody", which is on this record. I was really surprised when I saw that Phil Spector was the producer (Bill Medley was also producer) and that this record was on his record label, Philles Records. Those were better days for old Phil. Those were also better days for the Righteous Brothers, since Bobby Hatfield sadly passed away in 2003 due to a cocaine overdose. Anyway, enough of the sad stuff. Give a listen to some good music and good vocal performances by Bill Medley and Bobby Hatfield - the Righteous Brothers.

Track listing for The Righteous Brothers - Just Once In My Life (link has been deleted. Go buy CD on Amazon):

Side 1:
1. Just Once In My Life
2. Big Boy Pete
3. Unchained Melody
4. You Are My Sunshine
5. The Great Pretender
6. Sticks And Stones

Side 2:
1. See That Girl
2. Oo-Poo-Pah-Doo
3. You'll Never Walk Alone
4. Guess Who?
5. The Blues


bigdave said...

After a few hours of scouring the internet trying to find a full mp3 download of this album, I stumbled across your website (badass). I inherited about 200+ records like this from my grandmother and well, I decided to pull this one out because of the infamous "Unchained Melody."

After a full listen to this sucker, I listened about 3 or 4 times more. It is absolutely amazing. I know I "can't" ask you directly for a link to this album, but if you ever stumble across it let me know, somehow.

What's sad is that I am willing to actually buy this album digitally. Not their greatest hits or "anthologies" but this album as a whole.

I'll be keeping up with this blog as much as possible. Keep it up.

Esther said...

Hi, bigdave!

Thanks so much for your kind comments!

Unfortunately, I lost most of my backups/links when the MU website was shut down a couple of months ago. :-(

At this time, I do not plan to re-up those records as it would just take way too much time. But do keep visiting as I continue to share more of my record collection!