Sunday, July 01, 2007

Kaptain Kool and the Kongs (1978)

How many of you watched the Saturday morning shows brought to us by Sid and Marty Krofft - Pufnstuf, Lidsville, Sigmund and the Sea Monsters, Krofft Supershow? Well, remember that groovy band, Kaptain Kool and the Kongs? I was in my early teens when they came along, but I remember I would still watch the Krofft shows, and I thought Kaptain Kool and the Kongs were great! I remember that at first they were all dressed crazy, but then looked a little more toned-down. Who was your favorite? Superchick was mine - I always thought she was really cute. I don't know what happened to any of the band members except for Michael Lembeck (Kaptain Kool), who later appeared on "One Day At a Time" and is now a well-respected TV director.

Well, I really can't remember how I found this album - eBay or Half-Price Books or a garage sale - but I was ecstatic when I found it! Plus, as you can see from the picture, this is a demo album - the ones they would give to radio stations to play, although I doubt that this one ever was played on the air. Unfortunately, the sticker that says it's a demo record covers up the adorable Superchick, but I'm not going to remove the sticker because I like to keep my records as close as possible to their original condition. But, to make up for that, I've also included a video below where Superchick (Debra Clinger) is singing lead! So, I hope y'all enjoy both this album and the video!

Track listing for Kaptain Kool & the Kongs:

Side 1:
1. And I Never Dreamed
2. This Time
3. You Put Some Love in My Life
4. When You Feel It
5. True Love is On Its Way

Side 2:
1. The Whole World Will Be Dancin'
2. Crazy Girl
3. You Saved Me
4. Melanie
5. Free
6. Sing Me a Song

Kaptain Kool & the Kongs sing "Don't Throw It Away"