Wednesday, February 13, 2008

Sajid Khan - Sajid (1969)

Here's one you don't see too often! How many of you remember a television show in the late 1960s called "Maya"? It starred a teenage Jay North ("Dennis the Menace") and this teenage boy from India, Sajid Khan, and they rode around on this elephant named Maya. I barely remember it myself, but I do remember seeing pictures of Sajid on the cover of various teen magazines. Well, being that I especially like collecting celebrity vocal record albums, I searched and searched for this album until I finally got in on eBay last year! (Now, if I could only find the album Kurt Russell recorded around 1970...) The liner notes on this album were written by the editor of 16 Magazine, Gloria Stavers. (I'm very familiar with that name since I religiously bought that magazine for years!) So, you could say that it was the teen magazines that heavily promoted him as a "star", although he quickly disappeared after the show went off the air. Just last week, I was watching an episode of "The Big Valley" on the Encore Westerns channel, and Sajid was the guest star! I sometimes wondered what happened to Sajid, and it turns out that he returned to India and continued his acting career over there. If this brings back memories and you were a Sajid fan back in the day, you can check out his website and catch up on him!

(BTW, I'll be moving to my new house over the next couple of weeks, so I won't be posting anything until I get my computer and stuff all set up.)

Track listing for Sajid Khan - Sajid:

Side 1:
1. A Song Inside
2. Everything is You
3. Moon River
4. I Love How You Love Me
5. This Guy's in Love with You
6. Dream

Side 2:
1. Smile
2. A Closed Heart Gathers No Love
3. Someday
4. I Started a Joke
5. Ha Ram (Of Love and Peace)
6. Getting to Know You

I was trying to find a video of his appearance on "American Bandstand", but couldn't find one. I did, however, find this video on YouTube that someone put together to his song, "Ha Ram":

Sunday, February 10, 2008

Steve & Eydie - We Got Us (1960)

My good friend, Vince, requested that I post an album by Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme, so, of course, I was happy to oblige! I love Steve and Eydie, and this album is absolutely fabulous! It won a Grammy for them back in 1960, and you'll see why when you give it a listen. There are lots of familiar standards on this album, and it's a joy listening to Steve and Eydie sing them. So, Vince, I hope you don't already have this album and that you enjoy it as much as I do!

"This monophonic record can be played on your stereophonic system. The sound will be even more brilliant."

Track listing for Steve & Eydie - We Got Us:

Side 1:
1. We Got Us
2. Side By Side
3. No Two People
4. Darn It, Baby, That's Love
5. Together
6. Flattery

Side 2:
1. This Could Be the Start of Something
2. I Remember It Well
3. Baby, It's Cold Outside
4. Two Lost Souls
5. Harmony
6. Cheek to Cheek

Steve & Eydie sing "This Could Be the Start of Something":